Beyonce Donates $100K To Four Historically Black Colleges

One winner from each school will receive $25,000 for the 2018-2019 academic year


International superstar Beyonce will be dishing out $100 to four historically black colleges.

The singer through her ‘BeyGOOD’ initiative announced the four schools in the newly created Homecoming Scholars Award Program slated for 2018-2019 academic year.

The schools — Wilberforce University in Ohio, Xavier University of Louisiana, Tuskegee University in Alabama and Bethune-Cookman University in Florida — are all Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs). HBCUs are institutions of higher education in the United States established before the Civil Rights Act of 1964 with the intention of primarily serving the African-American community.

Beyoncé made history last week at the 2018 Coachella Valley Music and Arts Festival by becoming the first black woman to headline in the festival’s 19-year run. The two-hour performance was broadcast live on YouTube. DJ Khaled dubbed her performance #Beychella, which trended on social media.

“We salute the rich legacy of Historically Black Colleges and Universities,” states Ivy McGregor, director of philanthropy and corporate relations at Parkwood Entertainment which houses BeyGOOD. “We honor all institutions of higher learning for maintaining culture and creating environments for optimal learning which expands dreams and the seas of possibilities for students.”


One winner from each school will receive $25,000 for the 2018-2019 academic year for study in various fields. This is the second year for a scholars program created by Beyoncé.

The Formation Scholars Awards Program, a merit scholarship program was established in April 2017 in celebration of the one-year anniversary of LEMONADE, Beyoncé’s critically acclaimed and globally lauded 2016 visual album. The Formation Scholars awards encouraged and supported young women who are bold, creative, conscious, confident and unafraid to think outside of the box.

The Homecoming Scholars Award Program for 2018-2019 will expand to all qualifying students at the four universities, regardless of gender. The disciplines will include literature, creative arts, African- American studies, science, education, business, communications, social sciences, computer science and engineering. All applicants must maintain a 3.5 GPA or above. All finalists and winners will be selected by the universities.

Winners will be announced this summer.

Use the Prev & Next keys to continue reading


Leave a comment

%d bloggers like this: